You go girl!

(Edited)

Why badass female characters in anime are important and why being ‘girly‘ is (never) a bad thing. – I often hear that manga and anime feature a ‘bad imagery of femininity’ and sadly, I can’t always disagree because there is a lot of unnecessesary sexualization and misinterpretation of female romance but this is a problem in society and isn’t handled very well in other media either. Either way, I took some time to think about this issue and managed to list a few butt-kicking ladies who could be considered ‘girly’ but don’t just represent the chlichĆ©s. I won’t name them in a particular order and this list is heavily influenced by my personal experiences and is therefore biased. I will edit this post and add more female characters as I go and fall in love with amazing heroines because we need to appreciate actual girl power in anime and manga more.

Let’s start with INUYASHAKagome Higurashi

Inuyasha was one of the first manga I got to read and it’s one of my all time favorites because the story is amazing and the characters are a lot of fun. Kagome is my first pick because she’s both strong and kind which is what I love to see in strong female characters. Kagome loves and fights with all her heart, is the most loyal friend and she knows what she wants. She’s one of my favorite heroines and I just love her simple, yet beautiful character design. Her bow and arrow weapon is pretty basic but I like how this kind of weapon was considered a tool men used for hunting.

The love story between Inuyasha and Kagome doesn’t make her seem inferior to a man but shows how valuable she is as a character and how close they are to each other. This is also supported by the fact that she has the power to ‘control’ Inuyasha in his half-demon form and did rescue him more than once throughout the series. She’s also brave and selfless, always putting her friends first. Her sweet personality and strong will make her a great character and female lead role.

Akatsuki no Yona – Princess Yona

Honestly, I really disliked her in the beginning of the anime because she was so annoying and just some silly girl who only cared about herself but Yona had a one-eighty and became a really cool female character. Yona lost everything after her father was mudrered and she had to flee from her home. She also used a bow and arrows to fight so maybe I have a thing for female archers? I don’t know, but Yona is one of the female protagonists I really enjoyed and I simply love her character development. She’s still a young woman who can be naive and has to learn a lot about the world but she’s willing to change and train to get stronger.

Yona is very friendly and helpful towards others, no matter if they’re commoners or royalty, as long as they treat others with respect and kindness. Her short hair is beautiful on her and I like that she’s still emotional and somewhat dense. Like I said, her transformation was portrayed in a way that I really enjoyed and I love how she makes her own choices and fights for what she wants. Princess? What a queen!

Boku no Hero Academia – Momo Yaoyorozu

Momo is such an awesome character and not just because she’s pretty but because she is smart and cares about her classmates. Her creation quirk is extremely powerful and not to mention totally awesome! I also like how she can be a badass leader and the best strategist in class 1-A and the sweet, dorky girl at the same time. Though she’s sometimes insecure when it comes down to it she knows what to do and will sacrifice herself for her friend’s sake. Momo’s parents are very rich but she isn’t snobby and doesn’t look down on others like some spoilt brat. Sometimes, she seems to forget that her family’s wealth can be quite intimidating for her classmates but that’s because she doesn’t appear to focus on money.

Yaoyorozu has the ability to create every nonliving object as long as she understands it’s structure and function but she refuses to misuse her power and fulfills all her duties as a top student and as a young heroine. Momo loves shopping, is easily flustered and loves to spend time with her girl friends. She’s elegant and eloquent and one of my favorite female characters in BNHA. I don’t think that she’s considered a main character, really but she’s still high up on my list. Momo Yaoyorozu is such a nerd and I love her with all my heart.

Yakusoku no Neverland – Emma

I didn’t read the manga yet except for the first two chapters but I already love this heroine! Emma is energetic, kind and strong and overcomes her deepest fears and flaws by challenging herself and wanting to protect others. She never gives up and is an inspiration to her peers plus, I think that her character design is amazing. I like how she’s not only strong mentally but also physically which is shown by her being a very fast runner and athletic abilities.

Emma is very smart and becomes better and better at developing strategies while having to survive in a world full of monsters and mistrust. I like her forgiving nature and how she stands up for her principles. Emma cares about the people she loves and is ready to fight for a better life. I’m in love with her tomboyish design and sweet personality. Even when faced with hardships she does her best to stay strong and help the others. She was so impressive in the first season of the anime and the beginning of the manga, I can’t say how much I like this character.

The Promised Neverland Anime GIF - ThePromisedNeverland Anime Emma GIFs

Akame ga Kill! – Akame

I’m not the biggest fan of the anime but Akame is still a character that I enjoyed in the manga and the adaptation Akame ga Kill Zero. Akame’s sword skills are impressive and I like her quiet but sweet nature. No doubt, she’s one of the strongest fighters and a main character in the series. Akame also cares for her friends and her little sister but like many characters she also has a tragic and violent past wich made her change and grow as a person. She wants to do what she thinks is right and yet she’s far from being perfect.

Look at this cutie just wanting her food and sweets! Akame is both cute and terrifying with her intensity and raw skill. While the first anime doesn’t really focus on her that much she’s still a cool character and one of my favorite fighters using a sword. Her design is also interesting because while she’s often a little loli she looks like an absolute woman when she’s fighting for real.

Akame Tatsumi GIF - Akame Tatsumi GIFs

Bungo Stray Dogs – Yosano Akiko

How could I forget about my favorite (slightly) sadistic doctor? Yosano is not only a total boss with an awesome ability but also the embodiment of a true feminist. She is a strong fighter and uses her medical knowledge to disect her enemies like a total queen. She does this in high heels mind you! Her line: “Women have always been resilient.” is one of my favorite lines in the English dub. She’s smart and witty and I love that she has a caring side when it comes to the people she loves.

Like most of the Bungo Stray Dogs characters Yosano is also based on a Japanese author and poet which I find very cool. The author Yosano Akiko was also a pioneering feminist who wrote about independence and motherhood. For me, Yosano’s character in the series may not play the biggest role but whenever she does appear she is a total bad ass and yet a classy, elegant woman. I like when characters are both feminine and strong because there is nothing wrong with being ‘cute’ or ‘girly’ and such attributes don’t make a female character less valid. I mean, Yosano is a doctor, she’s always the one wearing the pants and still loves shopping, dressing up and make up.

Are there any asexual girls in anime? - Quora

Soul Eater – Maka Albarn

Maka is a Meister in the series Soul Eater and I love how she grows as a character and as a fighter. She can be pretty childish but she is also smart and a hard worker. Maka aspires to be just like her mother and while she seems to have a complicated relationship with men (because of her cheating father) she trusts her partner Soul and feels close to her friends. Maka is an athlete and she’s a strong fighter who can see the souls of others.

I like how throughout the series Maka grows both physically as well as mentally. She’s brave and inspires others (as you can see in Soul Eater Not!) She loves reading and studies hard for her exams. While she can seem stuck up she’s actually trying her hardest to understand those around her. She realizes her own flaws and tries to overcome them.

Maka Albarn GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

Evangelion – Misato Katsuragi

Evangelion is one of my favorites and Misato is my favorite character because she’s just so cool! An independent woman who used to love by herself before taking care of Shinji. She is the operations director atĀ NERV, initially with the rank of captain; she is later promoted to major.Ā She’s a very capable character and often supports other characters like Shinji when he doubts himself. Misato is strong and beautiful and while she has many flaws they only make her a better character. She is the one who is brave and strong enough to make difficult decisions while still being emphatic and caring.

This awesome woman has a pet penguin, a pet penguin! That alone should be reason enough for her to make it on my list. Misato is well written and her character design is so pretty. I like how she’s a total boss at her job but then her flat is a total mess and she’s always drinking. She’s one of my all-time favorite female characters in both manga and anime and she deserves everything.

gif and misato katsuragi image

Spirited Away – Chihiro

Chihiro was my absolute childhood heroine and I still love her character so much! She had to face so many struggles and she grows into this strong girl who faces all her enemies with both strength and kindness. She starts out as this scared little girl who seems so unhappy but when she travels to this other world and has to look for her way back she finds love and overcomes her fear and unhappiness.

I cried so much when Chihiro’s parents got turned into pigs and I remember how much I admired her courage when she had to face the witch and identify her parents to be able to get them back. She risks everything to protect the people she loves and I think that her whole story arc is so beautifully done.

chihiro

Please, feel free to recommend female characters that you would like to see on this list and why. I’m very curious to find out what characters you like. Thank you for reading!

Patsie

Leave a comment